Oct 11

Western NSW Local Health District (WNSWLHD) is celebrating after one of its very own nurse practitioners was awarded a major prize at the 2019 NSW Health Awards in Sydney.

Leonie Parker was recognised as the winner of the Staff Member of the Year award for her work in Women’s Health services for rural and Aboriginal communities in Western NSW.

Acting WNSWLHD Chief Executive Mark Spittal said the district is thrilled Ms Parker was chosen from a field of a record 193 entrants representing NSW Health.

Ms Parker provides clinical gynaecology and Women’s Health services for small rural communities with high Aboriginal populations in Western NSW.

“Ms Parker’s work as a nurse practitioner for the past 13 years has provided Condobolin and surrounding rural and remote communities with a sustainable service in colposcopy that has been recognised internationally,” Mr Spittal said. 

“She has gained the respect and confidence of some of our most marginalised women and provides timely care in the areas of prevention, contraception, cervical screening, pre-cancer and overall women’s health.”

“Ms Parker’s dedication to open communication and transparency, is evident in the successful patient and collegial relationships she has maintained over many years in the interest of improving health outcomes for her patients.” 

Western NSW Local Health District was among six LHDs to be recognised on the night, along with the NSW Ministry of Health.

Minister for Health and Medical Research Brad Hazzard congratulated the winners and finalists in the awards, which are now in their 21st year.

Mr Hazzard joined with staff, clinicians and academics to pay tribute to the wide array of health professionals who work tirelessly to improve the delivery of care to patients across NSW.

“These accomplished award winners demonstrate the depth of talent and creativity that runs through NSW Health,” Mr Hazzard said.

This year, there were 37 finalists competing for 12 award categories.

In 2019–20 the NSW Government is investing a record $26.7 billion, including a $24 billion recurrent budget and $2.7 billion capital budget.

Staff Member of the Year - Leonie Parker.jpeg