A A (02) 6809 8600

Emergency numbers

If you are currently experiencing an emergency, please call


More Emergency Numbers

Outstanding Achievements Recognised At Wnswlhd Awards Ceremony

  • Home
  • In The Media
  • Outstanding Achievements Recognised At Wnswlhd Awards Ceremony

16 December 2021

The Western NSW Local Health District (WNSWLHD) celebrated its annual Living Quality and Safety Symposium and Awards at Dubbo Regional Theatre and Convention Centre on Monday 13 December.

Mark Spittal, WNSWLHD Acting Chief Executive, said this year’s Living Quality and Safety Awards provided a chance to showcase the work and success of the District’s various teams amid a challenging year.

“This year has been demanding, particularly the challenge of navigating the most-recent outbreak of COVID-19 across the region. But our staff have stepped up to the plate and continued to provide innovative and world-class care to patients,” Mr Spittal said.

“We received a huge number of submissions from staff and teams across all categories and the finalists​ presented their projects at Monday’s Symposium. It allowed us to not just see the amazing work done across the District every single day, but also to celebrate and recognise it together.”

Following finalist presentations the 2021 Living Quality and Safety Awards were presented to teams for projects that contributed to innovation in healthcare, along with several individual awards.

This year, there was 15 different Award categories – Collaborative Staff Member of the Year, Volunteer of the Year, Excellence in Aboriginal Healthcare, Excellence in the Provision of Mental Health Services, Excellence in MPS/Rural Facilities, Integrated Value Based Care, Health and Research Innovation, Keeping People Healthy, Professional Patient Safety First, People and Culture, Transforming Patient Experience and Inspiring Team, People’s Choice, Chief Executive’s Award and the Agency for Clinical Innovation (ACI) Innovation Award.

Dr Shannon Nott, WNSWLHD Director of Rural Medical Services, was announced as the Collaborative Staff Member of the Year. Based in Dubbo, Dr Nott was recognised for the extensive support he provides Operational Managers and other clinicians beyond his substantive role, both in the hospital sector and primary care.

The Volunteer of the Year was Peter Harris, from Nyngan Health Council. Mr Harris has been a constant presence at Nyngan Health Service since the admission of his wife Beth in 2018. He demonstrates a commitment to rural health far beyond expectations, advocating for and empowering patients, residents and their families in honour of his wife’s journey.

Mr Spittal announced The Rural Generalist Nursing (RGN) program as the recipient of the Chief Executive’s Award, while the Remote Video-Assisted Chemotherapy Program was announced as the winners of the People’s Choice Award, voted for by the attendees of Monday’s ceremony.

“It was inspiring listening to our finalists at Monday’s Symposium and I wholeheartedly congratulate all of them and the Award winners, and I acknowledge all the worthy projects submitted for consideration,” Mr Spittal said.

“All of our staff across the District come to work every day wanting to provide the best care possible for their patients and also their communities.

“It can’t be said too often how proud we are of the work they do and the care they provide, and how grateful we are to have such a dedicated workforce across the District.”

2021 WNSWLHD Living Quality and Safety Award winners:

Collaborative Staff Member of the Year

Dr Shannon Nott

Volunteer of the Year

Peter Harris

Three Rivers University Department of Rural Health Excellence in Aboriginal Healthcare Award

Stop Smoking, Start Living (SSSL) program

Excellence in the Provision of Mental Health Services

Cloz Encounters of the Virtual Kind: Adult Clozapine Service and Dougie the Wonder Dog

Ochre Health Excellence in MPS/Rural Facilities

For the love of Nanna: A collaboration to protect our most vulnerable

Phillips ANZ Integrated Value Based Care Award

Maternal Transfers Redesign

Charles Sturt University Health and Research Innovation Award

Virtual Clinical Pharmacy Service

Keeping People Healthy Award

Cigarettes, You Take My Breath Away Program

SC Johnson Professional Patient Safety First Award

Dubbo Health Service Tracheostomy Committee

Spotless People and Culture Award

Stop The ‘Bloody’ Waste

SalaryPackagingPLUS Transforming Patient Experience Award

Virtual Paediatric Feeding Pilot

HESTA Super Fund Inspiring Team Award

Orange Health Service Pharmily (Pharmacy Team)

SalaryPackagingPLUS People’s Choice Award

Remote Video-Assisted Chemotherapy Program

Chief Executive’s Award

Rural Generalist Nursing (RGN) Program

Agency for Clinical Innovation (ACI) Innovation Award

Take a Walk in My Shoes: Transfer of Care from Custody to Community