A A (02) 6809 8600

Emergency numbers

If you are currently experiencing an emergency, please call


More Emergency Numbers

Outstanding achievements recognised at WNSWLHD Awards

29 September 2022

Western NSW Local Health District (WNSWLHD) celebrated its annual Awards and Gala Dinner at the Dubbo Regional Theatre and Convention Centre on Wednesday night.

Mark Spittal, WNSWLHD Chief Executive, said the Awards provided a chance to celebrate the work and success of the teams and health professionals from right across the district amid another demanding year.

“This year presented new challenges, many of which we had never faced before, and significant periods of uncertainty. But, once again, our staff rose to those challenges to provide innovative, world-class care to our communities,” Mr Spittal said.

“Our award finalists presented their projects at Wednesday’s Symposium. To see their passion and commitment to continually improve our services was inspiring.

“Each year this event allows us to not just see and appreciate the amazing work that is being done by our staff every single day across our District, but also gives us the chance to celebrate and recognise it together.”

The 2022 WNSWLHD Awards were presented to teams for projects that contributed to innovation in healthcare along with several individual awards.

This year there was 16 Award categories – Collaborative Staff Member of the Year, Volunteer of the Year, Senior Leader of the Year, Excellence in Aboriginal Healthcare, Excellence in the Provision of Mental Health Services, Keeping People Healthy, Integrated Value-Based Care, Health and Research Innovation, Patient Safety First, People and Culture, Transforming Patient Experience, and Inspiring Team, People’s Choice, Chief Executive, Board and ACI Innovation awards.

Dr Melanie Berry, WNSWLHD Medical Director Clinical Quality and Patient Safety, and Emergency Medicine Specialist, was announced as Collaborative Staff Member of the Year.

Based at Orange, Dr Berry was recognised for her exceptional commitment and unwavering dedication in leading the rapid development and implementation of a safe, effective model for the holistic management of COVID-positive patients across the District.

Volunteer of the Year was Bill Sloan, from Gulgong, who became a volunteer after joining the health service’s Cardiac Rehabilitation Program in 2012. He has volunteered for more than 10 years, completing training and conducting classes as a valued member of the team.

Jennifer Floyd, Oral Health Director, and Heather Cameron, Clinical Director Oral Health, were announced as dual winners of the Senior Leader of the Year Award, while Expanding Radiation Oncology Across the District and Who’s Who at the Zoo won the Chief Executive and People’s Choice awards, respectively.
WNSWLHD Board Chair Matthew Irvine presented the Board Award to Beyond the Emergency Department: Bathurst ED to Community Initiative.

“I wholeheartedly congratulate all of our Award winners and finalists, and also all of the worthy projects that were submitted for consideration across the District,” Mr Spittal said.

“It can’t be said too often how proud we are of the work our staff do and the care they provide to our community. We are truly grateful to have such a dedicated workforce across the District, and one of whom our communities can be justifiably proud.”


• Spotless Collaborative Staff Member of the Year
Dr Melanie Berry

• Volunteer of the Year
Bill Sloan

• TNN Excellence in Aboriginal Healthcare Award
Marang Dhali Eating Well Program

• Excellence in the Provision of Mental Health Services
Family and Carer Friendly Spaces

• Phillips ANZ Integrated Value-Based Care Award
Who’s Who at the Zoo

• Three Rivers Department of Rural Health Health and Research Innovation Award
Virtual Wound Consultancy Service

• OCHRE Health Keeping People Healthy Award

• SC Johnson Professional Patient Safety First Award
AMS mPage Project

• Phillips ANZ People and Culture Award
Physiotherapy Clinical School

• Transforming Patient Experience Award
Teleheath Early Talking Group

• Inspiring Team Award
Aboriginal-led COVID-19 response

• People’s Choice Award
Who’s Who at the Zoo

• Board Award
Beyond the Emergency Department: Bathurst ED to Community Initiative

• Chief Executive Award
Expanding Radiation Oncology Across the District

• Senior Leader of the Year Award
Jennifer Floyd and Heather Cameron

• Agency for Clinical Innovation (ACI) Innovation Award
Telehealth Early Talking Group