Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Our Board

Our Board​​

From 1 January 2017 our Board is chaired by Mr Scott Griffiths PSM and nine Board Members who bring a wealth of experience and local knowledge to the management of our district. They work closely with our Chief Executive to ensure we deliver high quality healthcare to the people of Western NSW.​

The Board are governed by the Health Services ACT By-L​aws and the WNSWLHD Board Charter​.

On this page:

Meet our Board

Mr Scott Griffiths PSM - Chair

Photo; Mr Scott Griffiths PSM, Chair

Scott is a current resident in the Orange District, with 30 years residency in Dubbo prior to his move to Orange in 2013. 

Scott retired in 2013 following a forty year career in the NSW Public Service which included clinical and management roles with NSW Health, Regional Director for Juvenile Justice, Regional Director for  Ageing Disability and Home Care, and finally Executive Director for the Department of Family and Community Services – all in Western NSW. Scott holds qualifications in Nursing (Mental Health and Disabilities), as well as a Masters Degree in Business Management.

Scott was awarded a Public Service Medal in the Queen’s Birthday honours in 2013 for his public service. He is also a board member of the NSW Agency for Clinical Innovation and the NSW Clinical Excellence Commission and a member of Orange Rotary.

Back to top

Mr Darren Ah See

Photo; Dr Robin Williams, Chair

Darren Ah See is the Chief Executive Officer of Wellington Aboriginal Corporation Health Services and has extensive experience across a diverse range of fields including Local Government, Education, Juvenile Justice and Health. 

Darren holds a Diploma in Government (Management), Certificate IV in Indigenous Governance (Business) and is a member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Back to top

Mrs Fiona Bennett

Photo; Mrs Fiona Bennett

Fiona Bennett is a Certified Practising Accountant with over 20 years of large corporate accounting and financial management experience in Sydney. Fiona now resides in the Orange area, is Chair of Endeavour Mutual Bank Ltd and is employed as the Senior Management Accountant, Greyhound Welfare & Integrity Commission, Howick Street, Bathurst. Fiona holds a Bachelor of Business and is a graduate member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.​

Back to top

Associate Professor Joseph Canalese OAM MBBS (Hons), FRACP

Photo; Associate Professor Joseph Canalese OAM MBBS (Hons), FRACP Gastroenterologist, School Rural Health, University of Sydney

Assoc Prof Canalese is a retired Consultant Physician/Gastroenterologist, and was a Visiting Medical Officer at Dubbo Base Hospital for over 30 years. He provided outreach clinics at various times to Brewarrina, Gilgandra, Wellington, Walgett, Condobolin, Coonabarabran, and Bourke Hospitals.

He was the Associate Dean of the School of Rural Health, Sydney Medical School, University of Sydney from 2005 to 2014 and is involved in various community and professional bodies.

Back to top

Mr Jason Cooke

Photo; coming soon

Jason Cooke is the Manager Financial Services, Orange City Council.  Jason is a Director on the Board of Housing Plus, an organisation that provides accommodation and support services in Western NSW. Jason is also a Director and Treasurer on the Board of Western Region Academy of Sport, covering a substantial part of the Western NSW and Chair of Central West AFL and a finance committee member of CivicRisk. 

Jason is a local from Bathurst. Jason’s qualificators include Graduate, Australian Institute of Company Directors, Fellow Chartered Accountant, Master of Management and Bachelor of Commerce (Accounting).

Back to top

Mr Paul Mann PSM

Photo; Mr Paul Mann PSMPaul Mann held the position of General Manager, Gilgandra Shire Council until July 2016 and was a Board Member of Orana Regional Organisation of Councils. He also has an Diploma in Local Government Administration. As General Manager GSC, apart from traditional LG functions, Paul had responsibility for extensive Aged Care and Disability Services. Paul is currently a member of Gilgandra Shire Council’s Aged Care and Disability Committees and is a member of Bathurst Diocesan Education Council​.

Back to top

Dr Colin McClintock

Photo; Dr Robin Williams, Chair

Dr Colin McClintock has been full time clinical nephrologist at Dubbo Hospital since 2007. Dr McClintock is a Renal Medicine/General Medicine Staff Specialist, and currently the Clinical Director of Medicine and Director of Physician Education at Dubbo Hospital. Dr McClintock holds qualifications in Bachelor of Science (Hon) Immunology (Edinburgh), Bachelor of Medicine (MBChB – Edinburgh), Fellow of the Royal Australasian College of Physicians (FRACP) Nephrology, Assoc Fellow Royal Australasian College of Medical Administrators (AFRACMA), Masters Health Management (UNSW), and a Masters Public Health.​

Back to top

Mrs Amanda O’Brien

Photo; Mrs Amanda O'BrienAmanda O'Brien is a registered nurse and farmer with a BA majoring in Indigenous Studies who has lived and worked in rural NSW for over 40 years in a variety of health and community service settings. She has experience in primary care, aged care, community liaison, telehealth and health promotion. She is currently the Chair of the LHD Health Care Quality Committee and is a director of Veritas House Bathurst which is a community-based, not-for-profit organisation and a registered charity that provides a range of flexible services to children, young people, and families in Central Western NSW.​

Back to top

Mrs Joan Treweeke OAM

Photo; Mrs Joan Treweeke

Joan Treweeke is a Director and former President of Royal Flying Doctor Service South Eastern Section; Chair of the Board of Royal Far West; Chair of the Board of Contact Inc; and has a Board Member of the former Far West Medical Local.

Joan is a former Councillor Walgett Shire Council; is a Director of a family farming enterprise; and holds a Bachelor of Law, Univeristy of Melbourne

Back to top​​

Mr John Walkom

Photo; Mrs Joan Treweeke

John Walkom is a successful business man with in excess of forty years’ experience. Residing in Dubbo, John is Managing Director Techni-Clean (Aust) Pty Limited. John is currently Chair Regional Development Australia Orana, Board member Taronga Conservation Society, Chair Dubbo Regional Council Audit and Risk Committee, Treasure Dubbo and Group 11 Junior Rugby League Associations.​

Back to top​​

Our Board Meeting Minutes and Reports​

​​Minutes of the Western NSW Local Health District Board meetings can be found below. 

Prior to 2018 Records of Board Meetings are listed.​

Back to top